Are Airheads Vegan?

Are Airheads Vegan

Many people love Airheads candy, but some vegans may question if they can enjoy the treat. Are airheads vegan? The answer is a bit complicated. Let’s explore whether or not Airheads are vegan and what ingredients are used in their creation process.

Are Airheads Vegan?

Airheads Bites are not vegan as they have beeswax and shellac, which come from lac bugs found in India and Thailand. Shellac is made from the secretions of female lac bugs, meaning that it usually isn’t considered vegan friendly.

Are Airheads Vegan

Are Airheads Soft Filled Bites Vegan?

Airheads Soft Filled Bites unfortunately are not vegan due to their Gelatin content. According to Peta, “Gelatin is a protein procured by boiling animal skin, tendons, cartilage, ligaments, and/or bones in water. It’s usually obtained from cows, pigs or fish.” Considering that Gelatin comes from animals, it’s typically not thought of as being vegan or vegetarian friendly.

Are Airheads Vegan: Airheads Gummies 

Airheads Gummies are also non-vegan as they contain both Beeswax and Gelatin.

Are Airheads Vegan: Airheads Gum 

Many people don’t know this, but chewing gum manufacturers are not legally bound to list what their “chewing gum base” is made out of. So, in essence, you’re really just eating a wad of mystery meat whenever you chew on some gum. Even worse – Airhead Gum contains Carmines as an added colorant. For those who don’t know, Carmines is actually a red food coloring extracted from a special insect species. You can learn more about carmine here. Because Carmines is listed in the ingredients, though, we can safely assume that Airheads Gum is NOT vegan-friendly.

Are Airheads Xtremes Bites Vegan?

The ingredients in Airheads Xtremes Bites are not the same as those found in regular Airhead Xtremes. One key difference is that Carmine, a red food coloring derived from insects, has been added to the bites. Thus, because Carmines is an ingredient, Airhead Extremes Bites are NOT vegan-friendly.

What are Airheads?

There are many different types of Airheads candy available in the United States, including Airheads Bars, Airheads Bites, Airheads Soft Filled Bites,Airheads Gummies, Airhead Gum, and more. They’re all incredibly chewy and juicy – making them uniquely delicious!

Airheads Candy Ingredients

The Airhead candy ingredients are mostly a combination of sugar, corn syrup, and other various fruit flavors. For those with allergies to certain fruits or who live a vegan lifestyle, it is important to check the ingredients list before consuming any.

Original Airheads

This product contains partially hydrogenated soybean oil, maltodextrin, dextrose, modified food starch (corn), corn syrup, sugar and artificial flavors. Some vegans may debate the inclusion of the last ingredient. Citric acid, water, artificial colors, red 40 (understand Red 40’s vegan status with us), blue 1 and yellow 6 and 5 are also included in this product.


Contains: Corn Syrup, Modified Food Starch (Corn), Maltodextrin, Dextrose, Partially Hydrogenated Soybean Oil. Contains less than 2% of Citric Acid, Sugar and Artificial Flavors (debatable ingredient for some vegans), Water, Artificial Colors: Red 40 Blue 1 Yellow 6 Yellow 5

Big bars

The ingredients in this product are: Dextrose, Corn Syrup, Maltodextrin, Modified Food Starch (Corn), Sugar and Artificial Flavors (this ingredient may not be vegan-friendly for some people), Partially Hydrogenated Soybean Oil, Contains less than 2% of Citric Acid, Water, Artificial Colors, Red 40, Blue 1, Yellow 6, Yellow 5.


Sugar, Wheat Flour, Corn Syrup, corn Starch, High Fructose Corn syrup,, Water-, Modified Potato Starch Malic Acid,, Citric Acid Contains less than 2% of: Glycerine; Potassium Citrate Salt Hydrogenated Soybean Oil Artificial ColorBlue 1 Red 40 Yellow 5Yellow 6.

Are Airheads Gluten Free?

The Airheads website states that regular Airheads products do not contain gluten, making them gluten-free.

Are Airheads Bites Gluten Free?

As stated on the Airheads website, all of their products are gluten-free, with the exception of Airheads Xtremes. Consequently, Airheads Bites are also gluten-free!

Are Airheads Vegan

Are Airheads Xtremes Gluten Free?

According to the Airheads website, Airheads Xtremes do contain gluten. Therefore, they are NOT suitable for people with gluten sensitivities or celiac disease.

Are Airheads Dairy Free?

According to the Airheads website, “Our products do not contain dairy; however, since it is atypical for dairy to be found in our products, we have no specific test for it. Please keep in mind that most of our ingredients are agricultural items which could potentially be processed on equipment used to handle other products containing these items. Thus, we cannot make the claim that our products are free of said allergens.”

Because of this, Airheads do not have diary in them but are still not certified as dairy-free. They may be processed on the same equipment as other products that contain dairy which is why this label exists.

Table of Contents