Are Ruffles Vegan?

Are Ruffles Vegan

If you are a vegan, or if you are trying to cut back on your consumption of animal products, you may be wondering if are ruffles vegan. The answer is…it depends! Some flavors of Ruffles chips are vegan, while others contain dairy or eggs. In this blog post, we will explore the different flavors of Ruffles chips and let you know which ones are vegan-friendly. Stay tuned!

Are Ruffles Vegan

Are Ruffles Vegan

While some Ruffles flavors are vegan, others non-vegan. For example, the original as well their seasonal varieties are vegan; however, many other flavors contain cheese and dairy products like milk, sour cream and butter.

Do Ruffles Contain Dairy? 

Ruffles were initially introduced in one flavor only: Original. The same potatoes, oil, and salt used to make other popular chips went into Ruffles as well.

However, some of today’s best-selling Ruffles’ flavors contain large amounts of dairy. For instance, the Cheddar & Sour Cream variety is packed full of over eleven dairy by-products.

Most Ruffles flavors that mention “cheese” or “sour cream” likely contain dairy, so if you want to limit your intake of lactose, it is best to avoid these products.

Dairy by-products are staunchly non-vegan, as they come from the inhumane exploitation of cows. Female cows are forcibly impregnated to produce milk constantly, which often makes them sick and stressed until they die premature deaths.

Are Ruffles Double Crunch Vegan? 

Unfortunately, both of Ruffles Double Crunch flavors are not vegan. The Hot Wings flavor contains sour cream and chicken broth while the Zesty Cheddar includes cheese and other dairy products.

What Are Ruffles Made Of? 

Ruffles first appeared on store shelves in 1948, making them one of the longest-running brands of potato chips in America.

Ruffles potato chips are pressed to create ridges along both sides of the chip, which makes them stronger and easier to dunk in dips and salsas.

The Original Ruffles were made with only three ingredients, unlike today where it’s common to see a long list of chemicals used in food.

  • Potatoes
  • Vegetable Oil
  • Salt

All of the ingredients in this dish are vegan and natural. For example, potatoes are root vegetables that contain many amino acids, dietary fiber, and vitamins. Even though vegetable oil isn’t “healthy,” it is still better than its alternatives since it doesn’t have any harmful chemicals. Plus, salt is always vegan–it either comes from a laboratory or from the ocean.

The Original Ruffles are not only vegan, but they don’t contain palm oil like many other potato chip brands.

Although you would be buying from a brand that pretty much only sells non-vegan chips, there is still the ethical consideration of where the company sources its dairy products. The company itself purchases massive amounts of dairy products from diary farms to use in other chip flavors.

Are Ruffles Vegan

Are Ruffles Cheddar & Sour Cream Vegan?

Almost half of the ingredients in Cheddar & Sour Cream Ruffles are not vegan, rendering the final product non-vegan as well. Some ingredients include  Vegetable Oil (Sunflower, Corn, And/or Canola Oil), Cheddar & Sour Cream Seasoning (Maltodextrin (Made From Corn), Salt, Whey, Cheddar Cheese (Milk, Cheese Cultures, Salt, Enzymes), Onion Powder, Corn Oil, Monosodium Glutamate.

Are Ruffles Jalapeno Ranch Flavored Potato Chips Vegan?

Ruffles Jalapeno Ranch Flavored Potato Chips are not vegan because they contain milk ingredients. Some ingredients include Vegetable Oil (Canola, Corn, Soybean, and/or Sunflower Oil)

Are Ruffles Flamin’ Hot Vegan?

Ruffles Flamin’ Hot Flavored Potato Chips are unfortunately not vegan as they contain a number of milk-based ingredients like Cheddar Cheese (Milk, Cheese Cultures, Salt, Enzymes), Blue Cheese (Milk, milk cheese cultures salt, Salt, Enzymes), Sour Cream (Cultured Cream, Skim Milk) natural and artificial flavors, and sugar.

Are Ruffles Vegan

Final thoughts on Are Ruffles Vegan

Although only 4 out of 14 Ruffles flavors are vegan, this is good news. As people become more conscientious of animal cruelty and the state of the environment, the vegan diet is becoming increasingly popular. With any luck, we will see more and more vegan-friendly flavors in the future.

Related article…

Are Kettle Brand Chips Vegan?

Table of Contents